top of page
Conference Committee
2  Annual materials innovation & advanced technology leadership forum


Dedicated to advancing materials and process engineering.

Materials.  Innovation.  Expertise.

A team of multidisciplinary experts are leading the development of the Materials Innovation & Advanced Technology Leadership Forum.  They will present a program with speakers from across the globe, uniquely relevant panels, and discourse that will lead to the solutions to tomorrow's growing requirements, today.

  • Air Mobility - Economy of Scale, John Geriguis and Nobuya Kawamura"
    Moderator: Jeff Sloan Air mobility key factors : safety is north star, light-weight is central to achieve maximum range, production volume expected to be significantly higher than traditional aerospace, total cost of ownership of an aircraft is a key to success. Economy of scale needs: the lightest materials​, the strongest materials​, the toughest materials​, the most economical materials, the most economical methods, the fastest processes. Reduce material cost: no waste​, no material expiration, no out-time limitations, reduce material purchased by 50%. Reduce touch labor: automated processes​, in-situ inspections​, in-situ repairs, digital twin​, eliminate the variables. Industry improvement opportunities : Improve quality inspection methods​, improve lay-up time, improve material for AFP, improve weight saving​, improve takt time. Working together to expedite disruptive technologies.
  • Recycling and Circular Economy of Automotive Composite Parts, Hendrik Mainka"
    Moderator: Jeff Sloan The proposed presentation can be viewed as having 3 segments, each building on the other to prove out a complete recycling loop for selected automotive fiber reinforced composites. First, the glass fiber composite recycling process will be conducted on existing lab scale equipment to validate process feasibility on the selected automotive composite part from Volkswagen, sheet molding compound (SMC) liftgates, with recovered fiber quality assessed. After successful small-scale process and fiber recovery validation, the project proceed to a pilot line test validating composite recycling at scale. During large scale testing additional process variables can be accurately captured, such as process energy consumption, environmental emissions, etc., as well quality and yield of lower value recovered mineral fillers. Fiber recovered during the pilot demonstration can then be utilized for the fabrication of a recycled fiber composite for potential automotive reuse. After molding and characterization of the recycled fiber composite performance, a comprehensive cost and environmental impact analysis is completed assessing the business case for using the proposed composite recycling technology to underpin a new circular economy supply chain that supports the automotive market.
  • Composite Material Opportunities and Challenges for Air Mobility and Unmanned Systems, Robert Yancey"
    Moderator: Jeff Sloan The Advanced Air Mobility (AAM) market is emerging quickly as the next generation of efficiently transporting people and cargo in urban environments and underserved regions. The Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) market is growing rapidly for both defense and commercial applications. Both markets require advanced composite materials for lightweight and efficient operations. They also are challenging current material and manufacturing systems as they will require material and manufacturing systems that result in high-volume, low-cost, but reliable composite structures. This presentation will cover the structural material challenges, opportunities, and solutions for the UAV and AAM industries. It will include an in-depth discussion on the material selection criteria including cost, rate, quality, manufacturing process, supply chain, automation, and certification. Presentation content is applicable to companies in all stages of development and production for UAV/AAM vehicles.
  • How to enable the green hydrogen revolution with your technology: Technical and business opportunities you must not miss, Julio C. Guerrero"
    Moderator: Jeff Sloan Most of the hydrogen for the Hydrogen Fuel Cells (HFC) is currently produced in petrochemical plans; therefore, to realize the potential of Hydrogen to transition to a less-carbon-focused planet, we need to generate green hydrogen in efficient and cost-effective ways. This presentation will outline some of the technical challenges with which the electrolyzers—the machines that generate green hydrogen—development is dealing, some of the industries that are starting to think about using this type of alternative to hydrocarbon in their field operations, and some of the efforts in R&D related to them. The presentation’s main objective is to raise the attention to these Technical and business opportunities.
bottom of page